2013 Sakura Medal Books

The Death-Defying Pepper Roux by Geraldine McCaughrean

1 Comment

The Death-Defying Pepper Roux by Geraldine…

Please add a comment below once you have finished reading this book.

Author: dontflop

Enjoy the ride !

One thought on “The Death-Defying Pepper Roux by Geraldine McCaughrean

  1. I read a lot for my job but I really found this one hard. It was like downloading a huge file that took for ever. I know I should have probably enjoyed it I but I found it annoying and so unlikely. I am sure it is meant to be funny but the humour was completely lost on me. It was a bit like a modern version of ‘Candide’ by the French author Voltaire. The various different scenes that Pepper goes through in this book got slowly more and more crazy and unbelievable ending up with a boy living with woman whose husband had gone down on his ship earlier on but as her husband! I just wanted to shout out the whole time to the family at the beginning “Why don’t you just chuck the evil aunt out and bring up your son normally?”
    Sorry, but no thank you! This book was not for me.

Leave a Reply

